When I said yes to God.

There are many times when I have thought I heard God calling me to do some certain things. Do I always say yes? I wish I did. The reality is that many times I have not. However, the times that I did have lead to huge things in my life and the lives of others.

As for saying no. Well, I don’t even want to think of how that has altered the path of mine or anyone else’s life.

I was an untraditonal college student finishing up my degree in education. I returned to school when my husband lost his job and was home with my children. It took me about 6 years to complete a four year degree. As I was about to graduate I was sitting at a stop sign on a beautiful afternoon. I felt a little drop into my spirit about my future as a teacher.

Because we lived in a small area that produced many teachers with few slots to place them I had wondered where I would teach and how I would know that I was in the right place. The drop in my spirit said,”I have a place for you and you will know to say yes because it will be offered to you. It will be the first offer. I also felt that it would be during the first year that I graduated.” I prayed that if I was misunderstanding that God would for sure close each door that I wasn’t meant to enter.

Several months later I graduated and began to apply for jobs. Door after door closed in my face. I finally took a long term sub job which actually payed more than a regular teaching job would. I thought this must be it. So I settled in and loved every day of it.

I began right in the beginning and would have it until the year’s end. It wasn’t exactly what I had in mind but this was God’s plan. In December my dad, who lived in Florida, became ill. We left and spent all of Christmas break with him. While there I decided just for kicks (or because God couldn’t get my attention) I applied at their schools. Not long after I returned home I got a call about coming down for a job fair. Hmmm, we were going down for Spring Break so I thought I might go.

The timing did not match up. I mean while we were on Spring Break so were they. The actual job fair was in May. If I wanted to do that I would have to fly down by myself to attend. So, what did I do? I said, “Yes.” Wow, that one little yes lead to more than I can tell.

This yes wasn’t easy. My husband had been born and raised in Kentucky for 39 years! He had never lived anywhere else and neither had my 3 children who were 8, 13, and 15 at the time. Everything stable in my life was in this same small town and I was scared to death to go back to Florida and risk losing it all. But I realized that it was God and I had to go. So we all packed up and moved. We were there for 5 years. My dad went to be with Jesus at the end of the fourth and moved about a year later. When I said, “Yes” to God again.

To begin with it lead to my first real teaching job (within the first year of my graduation) just as the Lord had spoken a year earlier. It also lead to a new beginning for my family to grow in the Lord and as a family. It allowed to the beginning of new life financially for us. We had gone from a family who received public assistance to a dual income family that had health insurance and everything else we needed and then some!

However, the most important thing that happened was that a life full of pain and strife between my dad and I was healed. My dad was saved and is resting safely in the arms of Jesus for eternity. There are many details about this journey not in here but I wanted to give a glimpse of what saying yes can do. Sometimes yes is hard and doesn’t make sense to anyone but God.

 

Leave a Reply

